Loop de Loop…and a little help from good ol’ Adi

Posted: June 3, 2011 in Uncategorized

Today I got inspired.

When I left the office at 5pm  something came over me. I’m not sure what exactly but what I do know is that it produced within me a desire to run. And boy did I run. I can hear them now “run forest, run!” Actually that’s now what I heard, but something about Tom Hanks running across America can be uplifting.

Anyways, today I felt inspired. My inspiration was two-fold: On one hand I felt like running today for a very long distance because the weather was so nice compared to earlier in the week and partly because I hadn’t done it in a long time.

Normally I run up and down Kelly and MLK Drive but rarely do I run the 8 mile loop. Why did I decide to run it today? I don’t know for sure but I sort of wanted to push myself and see how long it would take me to finish and how I would feel afterward.

I got to the crib at about quarter pass 6 ready to run. The first thing I did was get something to eat. In order to enhance my endurance I knew that I was going to need some serious carbs. But not the kind that that’s processed and enters your blood stream like five minutes after you eat it and raises your blood sugar through the roof. Rather the whole kind of carbohydrate that requires more energy to burn and is loaded with fiber, Vitamins B6  and B12. My solution: shredded carrots and oatmeal. The food gave me the right amount of energy I needed without overwhelming me.

Time to get dressed…”where’s your kicks?” I asked myself aloud. It’s at this point that I started to think about my arsenal of fitness gear and how they got started. First up, my Under Armour compression shorts. I bought these compression shorts about two years ago. Sometimes I don’t think they’re do anything for me while I’m running or working out other than making me look cool. Damn things cost me $40.  Some days I feel like there a waste of money, other days I feel like I can’t live without them. Under Armour’s story is an interesting one. Two football players from the University of Maryland back in 1996 realized that their compression shorts beneath their leg pads remained dry after games, while their cotton shirt was drenchedwith sweat. They started making compression shirts in their basement and the rest is history. Who would’ve thought.

After I put those on I put on a pair of Adidas running shorts. These are my absolute favorite. I can’t live without them. They’re thin, black and cheap. They were on the clearance rack at City Sports for only 20 bucks. Steal!

Then I thought about how much I really like Adidas sneakers too. I have 3 pair. I would have had more, but once the shoes become really worn I donate them. It sounds bad but someone somewhere appreciates those shoes. But I digress. My ADIDAS. Some people say that the name is an acronym for All Day I Dream About Sex (or Sports). But the name Adidas is really not an acronym at all. Actually it’s the first 3 letters of a man’s first name and the first 3 letters of his last name combined.

Everyone knows the story. But in case you don’t I’ll break it down briefly for you. Back in the 1920s a German sports scientist named Adolf “Adi” Dassler wanted to make a comfortable athletic shoe for football (soccer) players. He used his nick name “Adi” at first but his brother (who created the brand Puma) thought it was cheesy and told him to try something else. Adi decided to used the first 3 letters of his last name in conjunction with “Adi” and the brand Adidas was born.

Who would have thought that a German sport scientist would be helping guy in Philly in 2011.

 

 

Anyways, I put on my socks which I think were either Adidas or Wilson and then put on my Adidas running sneakers and  proceeded to run. But that’s not before doing a few lunges of course.

I tied my crib keys to my shoes and vanished. Somewhere around the sixth mile, my needs were really killing me. I fought through it and got home about 8:15. I think the entire run took 2 hours. I made it.

Oh yeah, before I forget. My shirt was a breathable long-sleeve by Nike but I don’t really care too much about them so you’ll have to wait until next time before I break down their history and impact on my life.

Before the week is out, try your best to run the 8 mile loop. You can do it.

Leave a Reply

